Commercial informational & consulting Centre
Print version. Published on site Rusnet.NL 26 April 2004

Encyclopedia :: S :: Siberia

 a   b   c   d   e   f   g   h   i   j   k   l   m   n   o   p   r   s   t   u   v   w   x   y   z 

Siberia is a vast geographical region of Russia (7,511,000 sq km), which historically has had no official standing as a political or territorial division, but was generally understood to comprise the northern third of Asia, stretching from the Urals in the west to the mountain ranges of the Pacific Ocean watershed in the east and from the Laptev, Kara, and East Siberian seas in the north to the Kazakh steppes, the Altay and Sayan mountain systems, and the border of Mongolia in the south.

In 2000, however, Siberia was established as one of seven Russian administrative districts, with the district administrative centre at Novosibirsk. The Russian Far East, which is commonly considered to be part of Siberia, is treated separately in regional schemes.

See also on Rusnet encyclopedia: